Right of Legions – the beginning

It’s been 7 months since I started to write ‘Right of Legions’ (whenever I say that or write it, it’s always a tough twister), and I’ve never looked back…not for one second. Even though I’m doing a degree in Geography and go cycling quite often, I will always try and make time to write, after all, I want to share my ideas with people. Moving on, this is a blog about my progress writing the book, and hopefully, the series. I hope people get some sort of enjoyment from reading this, and following my progress, so without further ado, let’s describe the progress so far! Exciting, isn’t it!?

‘Right of Legions – A Monarch’s Gamble’ (the first instalment of the series), is currently at 250 pages, and 77600 words (pretty big…bigger than a dissertation). The build-up to one event has taken some time, which is some instances, can be boring, however, included in the 250 pages are different chapters relating to a different story, within the story (storyception!), which gives the book some more substance, rather than a build-up to one massive legislative scene, which will be the foundation for events to come; and that’s what this book is about, it may not seem like much, but trust me, the events, the actions off the characters, the characters, EVERYTHING, is imperative to the stories that have yet to come, and will hopefully make for some interesting, engaging, and possibly, thought provoking reading. There is still a lot to do (when looking at the story board, I’m not even halfway through!), but every detail, action, message conveyed in the book will mean that when new events occur, you will know whose side you’re on, and what you want to happen.

The characters’ list is extensive! I can’t tell you enough how much time I spent creating, and manipulating every character’s profile, trying to fit it in with the current narrative, without giving everything away! It is the most important part of the book. The characters, their actions, their beliefs, their morals, defy what the book is. If Jason Bourne (in the Bourne trilogy (one of my favourite series)) was just some random person, with a dull background, and had no morals, it wouldn’t be half as good as what it is!…and that’s what I’m trying to focus on in this book! (without having to make character descriptions for every chapter), is trying to build the characters, so you know, when you come to read it, who you love, and who you hate. And maybe, just maybe, when the series is complete, you’ll be able to write a piece of text about a single character. It will be interesting, it will be hard, it will be upsetting, but most of all, it will be enjoyable and fun!

Leave a Reply

