A genuinely lovely book…the loveliest! As read by the author.

 

wp_ss_20170225_0001You know when a book is good when you read it in a week…especially when that book is based in one of your favourite places in the world. In this instance, Naples, Italy. The city is mad, absolutely mad. Myself and my girlfriend went for a weeks holiday there, back in the summer, and stayed in an awesome hotel in Sorrento (to the south of Naples). I was mesmerised, captivated, and completely spellbound by it…I have never visited a city with so much glamour, pride, individuality, without care, and caring. It was a lovely, genuine lovely place (not considering the corruption and mafia), to visit. As a tourist, you have a completely different perspective on the livelihoods of people, than the actual inhabitants of said city.

Because I fell in love with the place, and strengthened my love for Italy, my parents bought me, for my birthday after I couldn’t stop talking about the place, a book about Naples, by a writer called, Katherine Wilson. The book’s title, ‘Only in Naples’, is a semi-autobiography about her life and experience with a family in the city. It is filled with mannerisms only found in Naples, attitudes only found in Italian families, and it was a fantastic read…and you know it when you can’t put it down.

I’m not one for reading autobiographies, although interesting and eye-opening, the lack of one or two primary narratives doesn’t completely encapsulate me, but this book is a complete exception! It is the loveliest, heartfelt, happy, humorous, and emotional book I have ever read! Upon reading it, it immediately reminded me of my trip to Naples, made my ambition to own a place in Naples (or in its vicinity), firmer.

I’ve never read laughed out loud at a book before, but this one had me in many fits of laughter, one on the train home (which was kind of embarrassing, but I didn’t care). It’s filled with multiple experiences of Katherine, her opinions of Naples, and her reactions to the Italian way of life, and just makes you realise how culturally diverse they are! It is filled with sincere (truly sincere, there were a couple of times where I wanted to have a little weep) encounters, and many, meticulous descriptions of the delicious Italian food, making your mouth water, considerably. It’s not like your typical love story, where there are two characters that have a bit of a hubbub and then eventually get back together, no, it is a true, love-story, that can happen to anyone! And that’s what makes this book a wonderful, enchanting, and adventurous series of events!

A real page turner! Fantastic!

only-in-naples

Leave a Reply

